Kani’s Kitchen: Meaty Rendition To Southie Tradition

I’ll admit I got a little silly with the title, but I always do. So, you live with it… please 🙂

Anyway, so my lovely wife (sorry ladies, yes, I am taken) told me about Kani’s Kitchen and naturally I had to go check it. It’s on Queen’s Road, diagonally opposite to the Congress office – a little ahead of (or what used to be) the Sanjevani Newspaper’s office.

Kani’s Kitchen is spotlessly clean. The steel tables and its Saurav Ganguly like “stand and deliver” concept immediately reminds you of the several Darshinis and Sagars across Bangalore. That said, they have at least two people constantly cleaning, mopping and ensuring that not a drop of gravy stains show up on the floor or tables. Kani’s Kitchen wasn’t crowded as I had expected. Perhaps because it is new (this is July 2017). They have parking to their left, so I think at least a couple of cars can fit in. But then, who really takes cars out in this day and age of Ola and Uber, huh?

Let’s get to the meat of the issue, yes? I ordered a Chicken Keema Dosa, while the wife ordered a South Indian non-veg meal. Apart from what we ordered, there were Biryanis, Chicken Dosas, etc., and a number of regular vegetarian dishes that you’d get at the aforementioned Darshinis and Sagars on the menu.

The non-veg meal was quick to arrive. It had plain rice, curd rice, a chapati, veg gravies, a chicken gravy and one pepper chicken dish. The rice went in smoothly (is that a South Indian thing?) but the chapati – and mind you I really like chapatis and paranthas – was kind of dry and seemed dated. The gravy was spicy, but I found it to be a bit too ‘garlicky’. I like garlic and being a big guy, garlic is essential as it thins the blood. But I am not sure many others would like an overdose of ole lassan. The pepper chicken was dry with way too much cabbage. Almost tasteless.

After hungrily staring at the pan searing my Keema Dosa, it finally arrived. It was piping hot and I had to blow (hush, you pervs) at it constantly before I could get a taste of what it was like. The Keema Dosa was a tad burnt, but not inedible by any means. I did find it to be a little too salty though. The wife didn’t agree, so maybe it was just me. Benefit of doubt given.

Overall, if you like South Indian food, Kani’s is worth a try. I’d say 2.5 out of 5. I’d like to visit them again in a month or so and update this post. My recommendation would be avoid the meals and be a tad adventurous with the Keema or Chicken Dosa.

Kani’s Kitchen,
Google Address: 11/1, Queens Rd, Swamy Shivanandapuram, Shivaji Nagar, Bengaluru, Karnataka 560051. Map

Leave a Reply

